Interview with CeaseTone

ceasetone

CeaseTone – this is Hafsteinn Þráinsson (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Sólrún Mjöll Kjartansdóttir (drums), Jökull Brynjarsson (synthies, samples and keyboard) and Steinar Karlsson (bass). And it is one of those Icelandic newcomer bands you will certainly hear a lot from in near future! Their indie rock, decorated with electronic sounds, is powerful and the live sets are energetic performances of great musical talent and excitement for what they are doing. Here at tónlist.de, we are absolutely thrilled to ask them a few questions! Be sure not to miss and enjoy!

_MG_2680

CeaseTone live @Airwaves15 © Birta Rán Photography

 

Hey Hafsteinn!

1. Congratulations on your Airwaves performances this year! I saw you at Iðno on saturday night and was stunned by your show! What do you think yourself about your shows at Airwaves?

I thought every show was fantastic from our perspective, we’ve been working really hard on our live performance the past few months and  gone through a lot of changes since Airwaves 2014. I really felt the results showing now on airwaves, of course it may sometimes depend on sound and the situation but the band was tight all the way through, my favorite show was at Kaldalón, perfect sound and mood.

2. You’re one of the hottest newcomers in Iceland, having won ATP Unsigned Talent Competition last year. You have released a few songs so far (your first single “Full Circle”, “Remedy” and “Hey you”), all very, very promising. What do we have to expect in the future? Are you working on an album and is there already a release date planned?

Yes, so we have an album on the way, it’s being mixed right now but we still have to work out the details on how we will release it. It will be titled „Two Strangers“ and the plan is to release it in march next year. The single „Full Circle“ is really the first song we released that defines the sound we like to promote ourselves on. “Remedy” and “Hey You” are fine songs but kind of are no longer relevant compared to all our new songs, they are from an era where CeaseTone was a solo project and I was still searching for what kind of music I wanted to make. I still play “Remedy” though when I play acoustic solo gigs every then and now but „Hey You“ we kind of have dropped completely.

3. It’s very common in Iceland that musicians are playing in two, three or sometimes even more bands/projects, expressing different styles in music. Any of you also active in other groups?

Our drummer, Sólrún is currently playing the drums on Bubbi Morthens new upcoming album.
I am playing in the band of Axel Flóvent and have been sessioning a lot with Agent Fresco as an extra guitar, I also play in a band called Lockerbie.

4. Though Iceland has a great culture of live events, getting off the island to play shows abroad is something a lot of Icelandic artists are striving for of course. Do you already have any plans for gigs abroad, maybe presenting your debut?

Yes! We are confirmed for South By Southwest in Austin/Texas next year so that will be our first time abroad, after that we want to focus mainly on getting our music abroad and go touring as much as possible!

5. Finally, as we’re always looking for new discoveries in Icelandic music, please tell us your favourite artists or songs at the moment!

If we keep it to Iceland exclusively, then I’d say i’m loving the rap scene, Kött grá pje, GKR, úlfúr úlfur, Emmsjé gauti…
Then there are some new really promising acts like Gangly and the whole electro scene. Finally I of course highly recommend Agent Fresco’s new album and Axel Flóvent!

Takk fyrir, Hafsteinn!!

_MG_2681

CeaseTone live @Airwaves15 © Birta Rán Photography

Don’t miss! Listen to CeaseTone’s first single “Full Circle” here:

Cover photo © CeaseTone

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interview mit CeaseTone

ceasetone

CeaseTone – das sind Hafsteinn Þráinsson (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Sólrún Mjöll Kjartansdóttir (drums), Jökull Brynjarsson (synthies, samples and keyboard) und Steinar Karlsson (bass). Und es ist eine dieser isländischen Newcomer-Bands, von denen schon in naher Zukunft viel gesprochen werden wird! Ihr kraftvoller, durch Synthie-Sounds angereicherter Indie-Rock ist in energiegeladenen Live-Sets zu bewundern, bei denen man den vier Musikern die Begeisterung an der Sache absolut anmerkt. Wir freuen uns sehr, CeaseTone hier auf tónlist.de im Interview zu haben! Verpasst’s nicht und viel Spaß!

_MG_2680

CeaseTone live @Airwaves15 © Birta Rán Photography

 

Hi Hafsteinn!
1) Glückwunsch zu euren Airwaves Auftritten dieses Jahr! Ich hab euch Samstag Nacht im Iðno gesehen und war begeistert! Wie habt ihr selbst eure Auftritte auf dem Festival empfunden?

Ich glaube, aus unserer Sicht waren alle Shows fantastisch. Wir haben wirklich hart an unserer Liveperformance gearbeitet in den letzten Monaten und haben einige Änderungen unternommen seit Iceland Airwaves 2014. Das war spürbar, auch wenn es natürlich vom Sound und der Stimmung abhängig sein kann. Aber die Band war super drauf die ganze Zeit. Meine Lieblings-Show war die im Kaldalón, klasse Sound und Stimmung.

2) Ihr seid einer der heißesten Newcomer in Island, habt letztes Jahr den ATP Unsigned Talent Bandcontest gewonnen. Bisher habt ihr ein paar Songs veröffentlicht, eure erste Single „Full Circle“, „Remedy“ und „Hey you“, allesamt sehr vielversprechend. Worüber können wir uns in der nächsten Zeit von CeaseTone freuen? Arbeitet ihr an einem Album und gibt es schon einen Release Termin?

Ja, ein Album ist auf dem Weg, es wird gerade abgemischt aber wir müssen noch die Details klären wie wir es veröffentlichen werden. Es wird „Two Strangers“ heißen und soll im März kommenden Jahres veröffentlicht werden. „Full Circle“ ist tatsächlich der erste Song, den wir veröffentlicht haben, mit dem wir den Sound, den wir uns als Band selbst vorstellen, definieren wollen. „Remedy“ und „Hey you“ sind schöne Songs, aber nicht mehr wirklich relevant verglichen mit unserer neuen Arbeit. Die Songs kommen aus einer Zeit, als CeaseTone ein Soloprojekt und ich auf der Suche nach der Art von Musik war, die ich machen wollte. „Remedy“ spiele ich trotzdem hin und wieder noch akustisch bei Solo-Sets, „Hey you“ haben wir dagegen ganz fallen gelassen.

3) In Island ist es sehr üblich, dass Musiker in zwei, drei oder manchmal sogar mehr, teils sehr verschiedenen, Bands/Projekten aktiv sind. Findet man jemanden von euch noch irgendwo anders?

Unsere Schlagzeugerin, Sólrún, spielt momentan die Drums auf Bubbi Morthens neuem, anstehendem Album. Ich spiele noch in der Band von Axel Flóvent und zuletzt häufig mit Agent Fresco als weitere Gitarre. Außerdem spiele ich in einer Band namens Lockerbie.

4) Obwohl Island eine tolle Live-Kultur und zahlreiche Events bietet versuchen natürlich viele isländische Bands und Künstler auch von der Insel runter zu kommen um Gigs im Ausland zu spielen. Habt ihr schon Pläne für Auftritte außerhalb Islands, vielleicht um das neue Album zu promoten?

Ja! Wir sind für das South by Southwest in Austin/Texas nächstes Jahr bestätigt, das wird somit unsere erste Erfahrung außerhalb Islands sein. Danach wollen wir uns vor allem drauf konzentrieren unsere Musik im Ausland bekannter zu machen und so viel wie möglich zu touren!

5) Zum Schluss: Da wir ja immer auf der Suche nach neuen isländischen Bands und Songs sind, was sind momentan deine Favoriten?

Wenn wir’s auf Island beschränken: ich liebe die Rap-Szene hier, Kött grá pje, GKR, úlfúr úlfur, Emmsjé gauti…Außerdem gibt es ein paar sehr interessante neue Projekte wie Gangly und die gesamte Electronic-Szene. Und natürlich kann ich Agent Frescos neues Album und Axel Flóvent sehr empfehlen!

Takk fyrir, Hafsteinn!

_MG_2681

CeaseTone live @Airwaves15 © Birta Rán Photography

Nicht verpassen! Hört euch hier CeaseTone’s erste Single „Full Circle“ an:

Titelbild © CeaseTone

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.