The Vintage Caravan @Der Cult, Nuremberg, 11.3.16

The Vintage Caravan

Since the invention of Psychedelic Rock, the three guys of The Vintage Caravan – Óskar, Alex and Stefán – are touring around, or at least you might think so. Though just at the beginning of their twentysomethings, the band is already facing an almost 10 years (!) history.

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

After some badass support acts for bands like Avatarium, Europe or the amazing Blues Pills during the last years, the band is now on their first own headliner tour called “The Beautiful Tour 2016”. And this tour led them within a reasonable travelling distance this weekend – so come on, let’s go!

The club “Der Cult” in Nuremberg usually hosts subculture events and fetish parties. So it somehow is a perfect match for a metal concert. Remotely located in an industrial area, in an old factory building made of brick, surrounded by overgrown fences, the outer circumstances are fitting. Inside, a small stage looks like cuddlesome closeness and good atmosphere.

First to test it is the Norwegian support act Tiebreaker. For your memo: check them out and if they’re playing close to your home, there are no excuses: go get there! The five guys kick ass and are really funny, total commitment guaranteed. Following up, Dead Lord struggles a little to keep up in my opinion though their gig is absolutely solid and there seems to be a good fanbase present in the crowd.

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

As the Caravan comes along, some people in the audience who came particularly for Dead Lord, might still not guess what will be right upon them in a few moments. Luckily, an opener like “Babylon” instantly answers all questions and everyone’s bawling the refrain. Alex at the bass guitar starts his neck muscle headbanging workout, Óskar treats his guitar like he has never done anything else for half a century and Stefán works his drums intensively. From their two albums “Voyage” and “Arrival” the band has released so far, everything you need for a tight Vintage Caravan evening is on the setlist: the riff giant “Last day of light”, the very danceable “Shaken believes” (or “Chicken disease” according to Óskar) and of course the magic mushroom anthem “Expand your mind”. The light guy adds a nice show and even decorates it with some pyrotechnics. I’ve seen the Caravan four times now during the last four months and if I had the chance, I’d go for a fith time tomorrow.

 

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Vintage Caravan @Der Cult, Nürnberg, 11.3.16

The Vintage Caravan

Die drei Jungs von The Vintage Caravan – Óskar, Alex und Stefán – sind gefühlt schon immer auf Tour, seit es Psychedelic Rock gibt. Obwohl sie alle drei erst am Anfang ihrer Zwanziger stehen, blickt die Band bereits auf eine fast zehnjährige (!) Geschichte zurück.

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

Nach bockstarken Support-Acts für Bands wie Avatarium, Europe oder die phantastischen Blues Pills in den vergangenen Jahren sind sie jetzt mit ihrer „The Beautiful Tour 2016“ erstmals selbst als Headliner unterwegs. Und in dieser Rolle machte der Caravan dieses Wochenende Halt in reisefreundlicher Entfernung – also nichts wie hin.

Im Club „Der Cult“ in Nürnberg werden sonst Subkultur-Veranstaltungen und Fetisch-Partys abgehalten. Perfekt geeignet also für ein Metal-Konzert. Abgelegen in einem Industriegebiet, in einem alten Backsteingebäude welches umgeben ist von überwucherten Zäunen, passt der äußere Rahmen jedenfalls schon mal bestens. Drin tut sich eine kleine aber feine Bühne auf und verspricht kuschelige Enge und gute Stimmung.

Angetestet wird das gleich mal von der ersten der beiden Support-Bands für Vintage Caravan an diesem Abend, den Norwegern von Tiebreaker. Für euren Merkzettel: hört da unbedingt mal rein und wenn sie live in eurer Nähe spielen, dann gibt’s keine Ausreden. Die fünf machen richtig Druck und Spaß, voller Einsatz garantiert. Dead Lord im Anschluss hat es da für meinen Geschmack schwer, die gesteckte Messlatte zu erreichen, wenn auch deren Gig sehr solide und offensichtlich eine veritable Fanbase vor Ort ist.

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

Als der Caravan vorfährt, wissen möglicherweise einige der Anwesenden, die vor allem wegen Dead Lord gekommen sind, noch gar nicht so recht, was sie erwartet. Zum Glück beantwortet ein Opener wie „Babylon“ gleich mal alle Fragen und es wird fröhlich der Refrain mit gegröhlt. Alex am Bass beginnt sein Nackenmuskulatur-Headbang-Workout, Óskar bearbeitet die Gitarre, als würde er seit einem halben Jahrhundert nichts anders machen und Stefán lässt es hinter dem Set ordentlich krachen. Von ihren beiden bisherigen Alben „Voyage“ und „Arrival“ ist alles dabei, was zu einem gelungenen Vintage Caravan Abend gehört, so z.B. das Riff-Monster „Last day of light“, das sehr tanzbare „Shaken believes“ (oder „Chicken desease“ laut Óskar) und natürlich die Magic-Mushroom-Hymne „Expand your mind“. Der Lichtmann umrahmt das ganze mit einer feinen Show und packt als Bonbon noch etwas Pyro oben drauf. Auch wenn ich den Caravan jetzt innerhalb von vier Monaten vier mal gesehen habe – ich würde morgen ein fünftes Mal hin gehen!

 

The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan
The Vintage Caravan

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.