Album review: Vök – FIGURE

Vök

Today is the day! Vök’s first full album “Figure” is finally there.

Vök’s history started with Margrét Rán (vocals/guitar/keyboard) and Andri Már (sax/synth) in early 2013 by competing at the “Battle of the Bands-esque” competition Músíktilraunir in Iceland, which they won (Previously winners were: Mammút, Of Monsters and Men, Samaris). Ólafur Alexander (guitar/bass) joined the duo in summer 2013 and Einar Stef (drums/percussion) completed the bunch in  2016. After their two EPs “Tension” (2013) and “Circles” (2015) and also signing a record deal with Nettwerk Records this Febuary, Vök is starting a new chapter.

With “Show me” and “Breaking Bones” we already got a little glimpse of what to expect of the new record. And what can I say? They didn’t disappoint in the slightest.

Continue Reading

Airwaves ’16 Crew Picks

Airwaves

The best week of the year is ahead of us! In almost exactly one month, Reykjavík once more hosts one of the most vibrant and thrilling music festivals worldwide. This year’s lineup of Iceland Airwaves is again huuuuge in quality and quantity with more than 200 artists and bands from Iceland and abroad, a schedule […]

Continue Reading

Vök @Musik & Frieden, Berlin, 3.3.16

Vök

Size does matter. And in case of concerts, it’s the other way round as you usually interpret these words. So the smaller the better. I love those intimate club concerts without big stage and distance to the artists and therefore I was really keen on yesterday’s appearance of Icelandic rising electronic stars Vök who stopped by in Musik & […]

Continue Reading

Album review: Vök – FIGURE

Es ist endlich soweit! Vöks Debüt Album „Figure“ ist heute erschienen.

Vök wurde Anfang 2013 von Margrét Rán (Gesang/ Gitarre/ Keyboard) und Andri Már (Saxophon/ Synth) gegründet, um beim jährlichen Músíktilraunir Band Contest mitzumachen, den sie promt gewannen (Zu den Gewinnern zählen u.a. Mammút, Of Monsters and Men, Samaris). Bereits im Sommer 2013 stieß Ólafur Alexander (Gitarre/ Bass) zu dem Duo hinzu; 2016 machte Einar Stef (Schlagzeug/ Percussion) die Gruppe komplett. Nach den zwei EPs „Tension“ (2013) und „Circles“ (2015) und mit dem Plattenvertrag bei Nettwerk Records (2017), startet Vök nun ein neues Kapitel in ihrer Band-Geschichte.

Die ersten beiden Single-Auskopplungen „Show me“ und „Breaking Bones“ vermitteln schon einen guten Eindruck, was man vom neuen Album „Figures“ erwarten darf. Und was soll ich sagen? Vök haben ihren Sound weiterentwickelt und haben wieder eine hammer Platte im Gepäck.

Continue Reading

Airwaves ’16 Crew Picks

Airwaves

Die beste Woche des Jahres steht vor der Tür! In ziemlich genau einem Monat findet in Reykjavik ein weiteres Mal eines der pulsierendsten und interessantesten Musikfestivals weltweit statt. Das diesjährige Lineup des Iceland Airwaves Festivals ist wieder riesig, von der Qualität ebenso wie von der Anzahl von deutlich mehr als 200 Bands aus Island und […]

Continue Reading

Vök @Musik & Frieden, Berlin, 3.3.16

Vök

Auf die Größe kommts eben doch an. Aber im Falle von Konzerten gilt das Gegenteil der sonst üblichen Auslegung dieses Satzes: also je kleiner desto besser. Ich mag diese intimen Clubkonzerte sehr, ohne große Bühne und Distanz zu den Künstlern und war daher sehr gespannt auf das Konzert Vöks, der isländischen Electro-Newcomer-Sensation am gestrigen Donnerstag […]

Continue Reading