Interview with the Icelandic supergroup Gangly

The first time the electronic r’n’b and trap experiment GANGLY came into sight was in 2014, when their single Fuck with Somone Else was published. At that time, it was not yet clear which known artists were standing behind that project, because GANGLY sent out the song anonymously. It couldn’t been kept as a secret for a long time until it was clear that the musicians Sindri Már Sigfússon (known  from Sin Fang), Jófríður Ákadóttir (known as JFDR and part of Samaris or Pascal Pinon) and Úlfur Alexander Einarsson (guitarist in Oyama) are forming the group.

Continue Reading

Album review: Sin Fang – Spaceland

With his new, on September 16th via Morr Music releasing fourth album called “Spaceland”, Sindri Már Sigfússon strikes with his solo project Sin Fang a new path. On his previous indie and folk orientated three records, electronic elements played if anything then just a very minor part in his music. The opposite on his new […]

Continue Reading

Interview with Toneron

Toneron

Indeed, the Iceland Airwaves music festival is always good for a surprise. No matter what kind of music you’re looking for, you’ll find new quality stuff. Toneron already attracted my attention even before the festival when I browsed the Iceland Airwaves 2015 playlist on Spotify. We actually almost missed the concert then but luckily dropped […]

Continue Reading

FURA – Deep sounds from the East Fjords

FURA

Björt Sigfinnsdóttir is an admirable allrounder: she founded a festival taking place in her hometown Seyðisfjörður in eastern Iceland every year, she’s running an arts school – and she is FURA, together with her companions Halldur Jónsson and Janus Rasmussen. The trio started in 2013 to make music together and in last November, they released […]

Continue Reading

Vök @Musik & Frieden, Berlin, 3.3.16

Vök

Size does matter. And in case of concerts, it’s the other way round as you usually interpret these words. So the smaller the better. I love those intimate club concerts without big stage and distance to the artists and therefore I was really keen on yesterday’s appearance of Icelandic rising electronic stars Vök who stopped by in Musik & […]

Continue Reading

On Air: Vaginaboys – Elskan Af Því Bara

On Air of CW 48-2015: Vaginaboys music can be described as experimental 90s electro pop with rap interludes as well as romantic sounds and melancholic interludes. The band wears masks to hide their identity. Their latest album “Icelandick” can be bought at www.cdbaby.com. You can also check it out on Soundcloud and Spotify.

Continue Reading

Interview mit der isländischen Supergroup Gangly

Das erste Mal, dass das elektronische R’n’B und Trap Experiment GANGLY auftauchte, war 2014, als ihre Single Fuck with Somone Else veröffentlicht wurde. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war noch nicht klar, welche bekannten Künstler hinter dem Projekt standen, denn GANGLY verschickten den Song damals anonym. Doch das Geheimnis konnte nicht lange gewahrt werden, bis klar wurde, dass es sich bei den Musikern um Sindri Már Sigfússon (bekannt von Sin Fang), Jófríður Ákadóttir (bekannt als JFDR und Teil von Samaris oder Pascal Pinon) und Úlfur Alexander Einarsson (Gitarrist bei Oyama) handelt.

Continue Reading

Reingehört: Sin Fang – Spaceland

Mit seinem neuen, am 16. September via Morr Music erscheinenden vierten Album „Spaceland“, begibt sich Sindri Már Sigfússon mit seinem Soloprojekt Sin Fang auf neue Wege. In den drei bereits erschienenen indie- und folklastigen Vorgängeralben spielten elektronische Elemente bisher, wenn überhaupt, nur eine sehr untergeordnete Rolle. Ganz im Gegensatz dazu sein neues Album, bei dem […]

Continue Reading

FURA – Tiefgründige Sounds aus den Ostfjorden

FURA

Björt Sigfinnsdóttir ist eine bewundernswerte Allrounderin: sie hat ein Musikfestival ins Leben gerufen, das jedes Jahr in ihrer Heimatstadt Seyðisfjörður im Osten Islands stattfindet, sie unterhält eine Kunstakademie  – und sie ist FURA, zusammen mit ihren Kumpels Hallur Jónsson und Janus Rasmussen. Das Trio begann 2013 damit, zusammen Musik zu machen und im vergangenen November […]

Continue Reading

Vök @Musik & Frieden, Berlin, 3.3.16

Vök

Auf die Größe kommts eben doch an. Aber im Falle von Konzerten gilt das Gegenteil der sonst üblichen Auslegung dieses Satzes: also je kleiner desto besser. Ich mag diese intimen Clubkonzerte sehr, ohne große Bühne und Distanz zu den Künstlern und war daher sehr gespannt auf das Konzert Vöks, der isländischen Electro-Newcomer-Sensation am gestrigen Donnerstag […]

Continue Reading

On Air: Vaginaboys – Elskan Af Því Bara

On Air der KW 48-2015: Die Musik von Vaginaboys kann als experimenteller 90er Elektro-Pop mit Rap-Einlagen, sowie romantischen Klängen und melancholischen Stücken, bezeichnet werden. Die Band trägt Masken um ihre Identität zu verbergen. Ihr neustes Album „Icelandick“ kann über www.cdbaby.com gekauft werden. Außerdem kann es über Soundcloud und Spotify gehört werden.

Continue Reading