Album review: Kiriyama Family – Waiting for…

Kiriyama Family

You won’t believe it, but finally we can talk about springtime. Sitting lakeside in the evening, shorts and t-shirt and a beer, what else? Maybe a fitting piece of music, fluffy and lightly? Well, we can help you out! And you can trust us, it’s a recommendation you better take into account: exactly in a week today, the nowadays six-headed Kiriyama Family will release their second record “Waiting for…” and we’ve been lucky to take a glimpse at the album beforehand to tell you about its greatness

kiriyama family

Most people here in Germany most likely never heard a single word about those guys – and very important: girl –
so far. Even if you should be a little more into Icelandic music. But back home in Iceland, they already caused quite a stir with their self-named debut back in 2012. The song “Weekends” made it to the top spots of the Icelandic airplays. And both their new singles “Innocence” and “Chemistry” achieved the same. But first things first.

Four years is a considerably long time in popular music between to releases. And in fact, there have been some major changes within Kiriyama Family in the meantime. Keyboarder Bjarni Ævar Árnason and vocalist Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardottir joined the four core members Karl Bjarnarson (vocals, guitar, bass and keys), Guđmudur Jónsson (guitar, bass and keys), Viđir Björnsson (guitar, bass and keys) and Bassi Ólafsson (drums and percussion). Right during the making of the album, but early enough to put their mark on it to some degree and define the new Kiriyama Family style: an even more straight-ahead sparkling 80s synthie pop than on the predecessor, which somehow commuted between synthie-indietronic (“Sneaky Boots” or “Time out”) but also pure indie rock (“the amazing “Portobello”) without really deciding for one direction. Of course, you can’t accuse Kiriyama Family of inconclusiveness cause they performed extremely well in both directions.

But now it’s time for synthies and keys! And right ahead, the opener “About you” leads the way for the first half of the nine songs record. Foggy sounds swirl from the off to clear up for the first catchy melody, driven by damn groovy drums until Karl jumps in to sing about love and desire, just as the doctor orders: ” “I wanna be the one / who sets fire to your heart”. And like a spark in the dark, Huldas voice shows up for the first time, silently in the background and you receive a first impression of what’s still to come. You don’t have to wait for (attention, play of words!) a long time. “Light years away” has a similar start from the off like “About you”, funky as hell thanks to Bassi’s amazingly tight and rhythmic drumming. But then it’s all Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardottir’s song and I promise you goosebumps. Her voice certainly is one of the most talented and impressive ones in Iceland. Silent and sensitive is as easy a task for her as sonorous and powerful. Next one, “Apart” slows down a little bit then, in fact break ups usually are not the most euphoric moments in life: “All I can say is that we’re meant to be apart / And all I can do is hope that you don’t catch my heart off guard”. But then it’s time for the first single and all that pain and grief is gone. “Innocence” is what you call the perfect pop song: catchy beat, great vocals, euphoric chorus and a finish that will make you burst from joy and Hulda’s brilliant voice. There are a lot of heights on “Waiting for…” but “Innocence” might be the highest of them all, though the second single “Chemistry” immeadiately prompts the same feelings. “Push further” then rings the bell for a slightly different second part of the album, with songs less rhapsodical but more reflective dominating until the final track “Waiting for your love”. Also the lyrics are more pondering and serious. “While you wait” even is a cheesy and monolithic instrumental 80s power ballad.

So despite their stronger focus on synthie sounds, Kiriyama Family still shows nice variation on “Waiting for…”. Certainly, one of the main reasons is also the rotating lead vocal. Both, Hulda and Karl, are amazing singers without a doubt and both put their very personal stamp on. “Waiting for…” is infectiously catchy, especially during the first songs, but not a bit simple or trivial: the songwriting is way too funky and groovy during the first half as it is toughtful in the second part. And as a matter of course, all six are fantastic musicians who perfectly know how to play their instruments and together really develop “Chemistry” (another play of words, sorry). We can only hope for Hulda, Karl, Guđmudur, Viđir, Bassi and Bjarni to show up in Germany, too, to promote their amazing second album. We’re “Waiting for…” (end of plays of words now, promised)!

The album will be released soon: 1st of June. Keep your eyes and ears open!

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Reingehört: Kiriyama Family – Waiting for…

Kiriyama Family

Kaum zu glauben, aber der Frühling ist jetzt dann doch mal da. Abends draußen hocken am See in kurzen Hosen und T-Shirt, was gibt’s schöneres? Vielleicht noch die passende, luftige und beschwingte neue Musik dazu! Wir hätten da einen Vorschlag – und ihr könnt uns glauben, wenn wir sagen: das ist ein wirklich guter Vorschlag. Denn mit „Waiting for…“ erscheint heute in einer Woche das zweite Studioalbum der inzwischen auf sechs Mitglieder angewachsenen Kiriyama Family, und wir haben für euch vorab rein hören können.

kiriyama family

Hierzulande noch völlig unbekannt, und wahrscheinlich selbst jenen, die es doch so ein wenig mit der isländischen Popmusik halten, nicht unbedingt ein Begriff, haben sie in Island mit ihrem selbstbetitelten Debüt 2012 für einige Furore gesorgt. Der Song „Weekends“ schaffte es z.B. zu einer Top-Platzierung in den isländischen Radiocharts. Und beide Singles der neuen Platte, „Innocence“ und „Chemistry“ taten es „Weekends“ gleich. Aber der Reihe nach.

Gut vier Jahre sind eine veritable Zeit in der Popmusik zwischen zwei Alben. Und in dieser langen Zeit tat sich so einiges in der Familie. In Gestalt von Keyboarder Bjarni Ævar Árnason und Sängerin Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardottir bekamen die vier Kernmitglieder Karl Bjarnarson (Vocals, Gitarre, Bass und Keys), Guđmudur Jónsson (Gitarre, Bass und Keys), Viđir Björnsson (Gitarre, Bass und Keys) und Bassi Ólafsson (Drums und Percussion) Zuwachs. Mitten in in der Entstehung des Albums, noch früh genug allerdings, um dessen Charakter entscheidend mitzuprägen. Und dieser geht auf „Waiting for…“ noch viel geradliniger Richtung glitzerndem 80er Synthiepop , als es der Vorgänger hier und da schon angekündigt hatte, sich dann aber doch nicht immer zwischen Synthesizer dominiertem Indietronic („Sneaky Boots“) und Indie-Pop-Rock (das umwerfend schöne „Portobello“) entscheiden konnte. Was man allerdings dem Erstling nicht wirklich ankreiden möchte, denn in beiden Richtungen lieferte die Kiriyama Family dort etwas ab, was andere kaum erreichen, die sich auf eine der beiden Spielart beschränken.

Jetzt also übernehmen vor allem die Keys & Computer das Zepter und der Opener „About you“ steht gleich stellvertretend für gut die erste Hälfte der neun Songs langen Platte. Aus einem gedämpften Hintergrund wabern sich neblige Sounds nach vorne, die sich alsbald lichten und der ersten erste Synthie-Ohrwurm-Melodie Platz machen, getragen von verdammt groovigen Drums, bevor Karl’s äußerst geschmeidige Vocals einsetzen. Es geht um die Liebe und die Sehnsucht, wie es sich gehört: „I wanna be the one / who sets fire to your heart“. Und wie ein Funken glimmt Hulda’s Stimme erstmals in den backing vocals auf und man kann erahnen, was daraus noch für ein Leuchtfeuer werden könnte. Lange muss man nicht darauf warten. „Light years away“ beginnt ähnlich wie „About you“ zuvor aus dem Off und ist wunderbar funkig – nicht nur hier ein Verdienst von Bassi’s großartig messerscharfem Drumming. Sanft umhüllt wird es dann von einer Stimme, die vielleicht zu den talentiertesten auf der Insel zu zählen ist: jener von Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardottir. Gefühlvoll-ruhig kann sie ebenso perfekt wie kraftvoll-laut, wow-Momente sind garantiert. „Apart“ schaltet dann einen halben Gang zurück – Trennung ist eben auch nicht das euphorischste Thema: „All I can say is that we’re meant to be apart / And all I can do is hope that you don’t catch my heart off guard“. Dann aber kommt die erste Single und aller Kummer ist verflogen. „Innocence“ ist der perfekte Popsong: ein unglaublich eingängiger Beat, tolle Chöre, ein hymnischer Refrain, ein ruhiges Break bevor einem im Finale Hulda ihre Stimme in den Gehörgang schmettert, dass es eine wahre Freude ist. Der Gipfel in einer Reihe von Höhepunkten auf „Waiting for…“ und eine sowas von verdiente Single. Nach der zweiten Auskopplung, dem ebenfalls schmissigen „Chemistry“, bringt „Push further“ so etwas wie einen kleinen Stilwandel, denn bis zum finalen „Waiting for your love“ dominieren dann eher langsamere, auch textlich nachdenklichere, ernstere und weniger eingängige Stücke. Mit „While you wait“ mischt sich sogar eine pompöse und vor allem instrumentale 80er Power-Ballade darunter.

Die Kiriyama Family zeigt sich also auch nach dem eingeschlagenen Synthiepop-Weg dennoch abwechslungsreich, was vor allem auch am Wechsel der lead voice zwischen Hulda und Karl liegt, die beide phantastische Gesangsqualitäten an den Tag legen. Die Scheibe ist sehr eingängig, vor allem in der ersten Hälfte, dabei jedoch nicht im entferntesten einfach gestrickt oder gar poppig seicht. Das weiß das funkig-groovige Songwriting ebenso zu vermeiden, wie auch die etwas kantigeren Kompositionen der zweiten Hälfte. Ganz abgesehen davon, dass alle sechs tolle Musiker sind, die ihre Instrumente blind beherrschen und zusammen eine ansteckende „Chemistry“ entwickeln. Man kann daher nur hoffen, dass es Hulda, Karl, Guđmudur, Viđir, Bassi und Bjarni mit ihrem Album auch für ein paar Live-Termine nach Deutschland verschlägt.

„Waiting for…“ ist es wirklich sehr wert, darauf zu warten und zum Glück ist für alle das warten bald vorbei: am 1. Juni erscheint das Album!

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.