Album review: Kiriyama Family – Waiting for…

Kiriyama Family

You won’t believe it, but finally we can talk about springtime. Sitting lakeside in the evening, shorts and t-shirt and a beer, what else? Maybe a fitting piece of music, fluffy and lightly? Well, we can help you out! And you can trust us, it’s a recommendation you better take into account: exactly in a week today, the nowadays six-headed Kiriyama Family will release their second record “Waiting for…” and we’ve been lucky to take a glimpse at the album beforehand to tell you about its greatness

Continue Reading

Album review: Vök – FIGURE

Vök

Today is the day! Vök’s first full album “Figure” is finally there. Vök’s history started with Margrét Rán (vocals/guitar/keyboard) and Andri Már (sax/synth) in early 2013 by competing at the “Battle of the Bands-esque” competition Músíktilraunir in Iceland, which they won (Previously winners were: Mammút, Of Monsters and Men, Samaris). Ólafur Alexander (guitar/bass) joined the duo in summer […]

Continue Reading

Get to know: Valdimar

valdimar

The most important, versatile, touching “instrument” in music you cannot pluck, bow or beat. Basically, you don’t need anything to play it and you can easily play it everywhere – typically in your car or under the shower by the way. But it needs a lot of talent and courage to raise your voice in a way […]

Continue Reading

FURA – Deep sounds from the East Fjords

FURA

Björt Sigfinnsdóttir is an admirable allrounder: she founded a festival taking place in her hometown Seyðisfjörður in eastern Iceland every year, she’s running an arts school – and she is FURA, together with her companions Halldur Jónsson and Janus Rasmussen. The trio started in 2013 to make music together and in last November, they released […]

Continue Reading

Himbrimi: Fund raise your debut

himbrimi

Recording, mixing and releasing an album is certainly not for free. And all the more if you’re only just at the very beginning of your career as a band, you might have to be especially inventive to get your expenses together. The Reykjavík based band Himbrimi, being Margrét Rúnarsdóttir, Birkir Rafn Gislason, Hálfdán Árnason, Skúli Arason […]

Continue Reading

Reingehört: Kiriyama Family – Waiting for…

kiriyama family

Kaum zu glauben, aber der Frühling ist jetzt dann doch mal da. Abends draußen hocken am See in kurzen Hosen und T-Shirt, was gibt’s schöneres? Vielleicht noch die passende, luftige und beschwingte neue Musik dazu! Wir hätten da einen Vorschlag – und ihr könnt uns glauben, wenn wir sagen: das ist ein wirklich guter Vorschlag. Denn mit „Waiting for…“ erscheint heute in einer Woche das zweite Studioalbum der inzwischen auf sechs Mitglieder angewachsenen Kiriyama Family, und wir haben für euch vorab rein hören können.

Continue Reading

Album review: Vök – FIGURE

Es ist endlich soweit! Vöks Debüt Album „Figure“ ist heute erschienen. Vök wurde Anfang 2013 von Margrét Rán (Gesang/ Gitarre/ Keyboard) und Andri Már (Saxophon/ Synth) gegründet, um beim jährlichen Músíktilraunir Band Contest mitzumachen, den sie promt gewannen (Zu den Gewinnern zählen u.a. Mammút, Of Monsters and Men, Samaris). Bereits im Sommer 2013 stieß Ólafur Alexander […]

Continue Reading

GANGLY @Airwaves 2015 – Ich bin zu müde, fick doch mit jemand anderem…

GANGLY

Als ich in meinem Kinosessel im Harpa Musikzentrum lümmel und dabei auf den Iceland Airwaves Zeitplan sehe, bricht die Stimmengewalt der Sängerin auf mich ein.Nein, es ist nicht die Stimmengewalt wie einer Amy Winehouse oder einer Adele. Es ist eine isländische Stimmgewalt. Wie ein Stück Eis, das ein knackendes Geräusch von sich gibt. Es ist wie […]

Continue Reading

FURA – Tiefgründige Sounds aus den Ostfjorden

FURA

Björt Sigfinnsdóttir ist eine bewundernswerte Allrounderin: sie hat ein Musikfestival ins Leben gerufen, das jedes Jahr in ihrer Heimatstadt Seyðisfjörður im Osten Islands stattfindet, sie unterhält eine Kunstakademie  – und sie ist FURA, zusammen mit ihren Kumpels Hallur Jónsson und Janus Rasmussen. Das Trio begann 2013 damit, zusammen Musik zu machen und im vergangenen November […]

Continue Reading

Xmas Special: Vaginaboys

Es ist Weihnachten! Und euer Tónlist.de Team stellt euch den heißesten Newcomer aus Island vor: Vaginaboys. Wir haben den Jungs ein paar Fragen gestellt und freuen uns sehr darüber, dass sie sich die Zeit genommen haben diese zu beantworten. Grade jetzt zur stressigsten Zeit im Jahr. Vielen Dank dafür!

Continue Reading