Júníus Meyvant @Ampere, Munich, 31.1.2016

júníus meyvant

One man, one guitar, and a microphone. Less is not possible, but also nothing more than this is necessary. On a rainy Sunday, great Icelandic Singer-Songwriter Júníus Meyvant plays a gig in Ampere in Munich. In the beginning he announces to play 620 songs. Half of them are not written by him but from Angela Merkel. She is even here today and watches the show from the balcony above the audience.

Continue Reading

Are Gaukurinn and Húrra the next victims?

Shutdown of clubs – a bad tradition

Once there was a bar called Sírkus, Klappastigúr 30, downtown Reykjavík, right inside of the hot-spot of creativity, the postal code area 101. For almost over ten years, around the turn of the millenium, this bar has been a daily meeting place for creative folks, artists, musicians. The brightly colored building itself, which was built in 1917, might have slightly been past its best days. But inside, there was vibrant life, legedary concerts took place or costume parties. Or it was just the local beer enthuasiast meeting up for a pint.

Continue Reading

On Air: Gusgus – God Application (Live @ Iceland Airwaves 15)

On Air of CW 03-2016:

Outside the KEX hostel you’d almost think the people queue up around the block one and a half times. Hundrets of them are still trying to come in and catch a spot. But they fail to do so as the room is already packed as if it would burst at any moment. On chairs and tables, the people pile up. No doubt that the upcoming act is on the to-do-list of quite a few festival visitors.

Continue Reading

On Air: Vök – Adrift (Live @ Iceland Airwaves 15)

On Air of CW 01-2016:

Roblox Free Unlimited Robux and Tix

What a great start for the new year! Finally, the first live performances from Iceland Airwaves 15, which took place last November in Reykjavík, are published on KEXP YouTube channel! One of the first Icelandic bands you can listen to (and watch) is Vök, certainly a tónlist.de favourite among Icelandic electronic artists!

Continue Reading

On Air: Mono Town – In the eye of the storm

On Air of CW 51-2015:

If Quentin Tarantino came to Iceland to look for a band that would perfectly fit the soundtrack of his next movie, he might choose Mono Town most likely. The three piece band from Reykjavík made quite some noise in the Icelandic music scene when they released their self-produced debut album “In the eye of the storm” back in 2014.

Continue Reading

Júníus Meyvant @Ampere, München, 31.1.2016

júníus meyvant

Ein Mann, eine Gitarre und ein Mikro. Weniger geht nicht. Mehr aber auch nicht. An einem regnerischen Sonntag spielt der großartige, isländische Singer-Songwriter Júníus Meyvant im Ampere in München. Zu Beginn kündigt er an, 620 Songs spielen zu wollen. Davon seien 300 Stück nicht von ihm, sondern von Angela Merkel geschrieben worden. Und sie sei sogar anwesend und schaut vom Balkon oberhalb des Publikums aus zu.

Continue Reading

Sind Gaukurinn und Húrra die nächsten Opfer?

Clubschließungen sind eine üble Tradition

Es war einmal eine Bar namens Sirkus. Klapparstigúr 30, Reykjavík, mitten im kreativen Hot-Spot der Stadt, dem Postleitzahlenbezirk 101. Fast zehn Jahre lang war sie zu Beginn des Jahrtausends ein täglicher Treffpunkt für Kreative, Künstler, Musiker. Das quietschbunte, mit Palmen bemalte Haus, erbaut 1917, mochte zwar seine besten Tage hinter sich haben, was die Bausubstanz anging. Aber innen pulsierte das Leben, es fanden legendäre Konzerte statt und Kostümpartys. Oder die lokalen Bierenthusiasten trafen sich zum Trinken.

Continue Reading

On Air: Júníus Meyvant – Beat silent need (Live @ Iceland Airwaves 15)

On Air der KW 04-2016:

Wir machen einfach noch ein bißchen weiter mit den KEXP Live Broadcasts vom Airwaves 15 in unserer Rubrik „On Air“. Nicht nur, weil davon inzwischen jede Woche neue Videos veröffentlicht werden. Sondern vor allem weil diese allesamt brilliant sind, wie z.B. dieses hier vom wunderbaren Júniús Meyvant!

Continue Reading

On Air: Gusgus – God Application (Live @ Iceland Airwaves 15)

On Air der KW 03-2016:

Draußen vorm KEX Hostel reicht die Schlange gefühlt anderthalb mal um den Block. Hunderte Leute wollen noch rein, schaffen es aber nicht. Denn drinnen ist der Raum bereits bis auf den letzten Platz zum Bersten gefüllt. An Stühlen und Tischen stapeln sich die Leute übereinander. Keine Frage, der folgende Act steht bei vielen, vielen Airwaves-Besuchern ganz oben auf der to-do-Liste.

Continue Reading

On Air: Vök – Adrift (Live @ Iceland Airwaves 15)

On Air of CW 01-2016:

Roblox Free Unlimited Robux and Tix

What a great start for the new year! Finally, the first live performances from Iceland Airwaves 15, which took place last November in Reykjavík, are published on KEXP YouTube channel! One of the first Icelandic bands you can listen to (and watch) is Vök, certainly a tónlist.de favourite among Icelandic electronic artists!

Continue Reading

Xmas Special: Vaginaboys

Es ist Weihnachten! Und euer Tónlist.de Team stellt euch den heißesten Newcomer aus Island vor: Vaginaboys. Wir haben den Jungs ein paar Fragen gestellt und freuen uns sehr darüber, dass sie sich die Zeit genommen haben diese zu beantworten. Grade jetzt zur stressigsten Zeit im Jahr. Vielen Dank dafür!

Continue Reading

On Air: Mono Town – In the eye of the storm

On Air der KW 51-2015:

Würde Quentin Tarantino nach Island kommen, um sich nach einer Band für den Soundtrack seines nächsten Films umzusehen, würde er wahrscheinlich bei Mono Town landen. Das Trio aus Reykjavík ließ die isländische Musikszene aufhorchen, als sie 2014 ihr selbst produziertes Debütalbum veröffentlichten: „In the eye of the storm“.

Continue Reading