Icelandic bands playing festivals 2016

festivals

The festival summer comes closer quickly! And right before it’s time again for all of us to hang around on filthy camping grounds and dance into the night in front of the stages of this country, we’ll tell you where you can do all this to the music of which Icelandic band. As there will definitely be more announcements in the next weeks, it’s always worth to have a look at our fancy events calendar which does not only show you the solo gigs but also the festivals with Icelandic participation. Let’s get it on:

May 12th-13th: The Vintage Caravan @Post Valley Festival, Gießen and

July 29th-30th: The Vintage Caravan @Rockfestival, Rengsdorf and

August 5th: The Vintage Caravan @Wacken Open Air, Wacken and

August 12th-13th: The Vintage Caravan @Aquamaria Festival, Plattenburg/Prignitz and

August 26th-27th: The Vintage Caravan @Neuborn Open Air, Wörrstadt

A band, tailor-made for festivals. It’s not a surprise that they are already confirmend for five festivals, including their second appearance at the famous Wacken Open Air. Always full throttle without compromises.

May 13th-16th: Skálmöld und Legend @Wave Gotik Treffen, Leipzig

August 20th: Skálmöld @Summer Breeze Festival, Dinkelsbühl

If you like to experience some real viking metal, you shouldn’t miss Skálmöld at the Wave Gotik Treffen, Leipzig and Summer Breeze Festival, Dinkelsbühl. The guys also gained attention in Iceland by performing together with the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra. Brute force! And it brought back memories of Metallica’s legendary S&M album.

If you’re rather into industrial metal stuff, there’ll also be something for you at the Wave Gotik Treffen: Legend. It might be a little wilder at a metal festival than at a hotel lobby but the sound fits both environments…

July 9th-10th: Epic Rain @ROSA LAUB Festival, Vornbach bei Passau

A quite uncommon, experimental mixture somewhere between jazz, folk and hip hop will be presented by Epic Rain at ROSA LAUB festival close to Passau in July. A nice match-up for an underground festival!

July 16th: PopUpArtFestival @ipse, Berlin

Not only one but even a whole bunch of interesting Icelandic bands can be admired at the PopUpArtFestival in Berlin. Not a surprise though, as the festival is also organized by Icelandic people. Besides M-Band, DJ Myth, Prince Heka, Cryptochrome, Mike Hunt, La Fontaine, KSF and Hide Your Kids the festival also offers visual artists, photographers and movie-makers.

July 30th: FM Belfast @Watt en Schlick Festival, Dangast

We don’t need to loose to much words on FM Belfast. There is no band being more colorful, more vivid and more freaked out on the whole island. They are completely contrary to the typical cliché of dark, melancholic Icelandic music. Even in the far north of Germany, July 30th will be a hot day – independent on the weather.

July 31st: Svavar Knútur @Bardentreffen-Festival, Nürnberg

Barely another musician combines story telling and utterly beautiful and dreamy music like the epitome of the Icelandic bard, Svavar Knútur. Hence, to all Franconians: off to Nuremberg on July 31st!

August 10th-13th: Sigur Rós @A Summer’s Tale, Luhmühlen

Really big business at A Summer’s Tale with Sigur Rós in August! It’s not necessary to lose too much words on this band which is Iceland’s biggest music export next to Björk and an unforgettable live experience.

August 19th-21st: Vök @MS Dockville, Hamburg

At the amazing MS Dockville festival you can dance into the night to the electronic tunes of Vök. Next to our beloved Icelanders, also the rest of the lineup is beyond any doubt: Bastille, Foals, KAKKMADDAFAKKA, Bilderbuch and a whole bunch of smaller, less famous but definitely thrilling bands are waiting for you.

August 26th-27th: Sólstafir @Wolfszeit Festival, Crispendorf

Epic metal sounds from Sólstafir will await you at the Wolfszeit Festival. This band is huge like an Icelandic winter storm and it will leave you equally ruffled and astonished when the waves calmed down in the pit.

August 26th-28th: Pascal Pinon & Vil @alínæ lumr Festival, Strokow

If you like it to be more silent on the last weekend in August, we’d like to recommend the tiny but thrilling indie festial alínæ lumr, not only because Pascal Pinon will mesmerize you with their minimalistic and dreamy tunes – they’re not alone: Vil is another Icelandic-Danish band and the rest of the line-up is also promising (like Zoot Woman or Die höchste Eisenbahn).

August 31st: My Bubba @Pop-Kultur Festival, Berlin

Similar to Pascal Pinon, the Icelandic-Swedish duo My Bubba stands for heart-warming, silent music that will most probably put a smile on your face while you’ve your eyes closed dreaming yourself away. Convince yourself of their magic in Berlin at Pop-Kultur Festival on August 31st!

September 21st: Helgi Jonsson @Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg

An amazing mixture of folk, indie and songwriting will be presented by Helgi Jonsson at the Reeperbahn Festival – despite his recent heart surgery. From the bottom of our hearts: get well soon, Helgi! If you’re from Hamburg, you definitely can look forward to September 21st.

Anyone of you at one of those? 🙂

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Isländische Bands auf Festivals 2016

festivals

Der Festivalsommer kommt mit riesigen Schritten näher! Und bevor wir alle wieder auf überfüllten Zeltplätzen absiffen und vor den Bühnen des Landes in die Nächte tanzen, geben wir euch einen Überlick, wo ihr das zur Musik welcher isländischen Bands tun könnt!Da im Laufe der nächsten Wochen bestimmt noch weitere Bestätigungen dazu kommen, lohnt es sich, immer mal wieder einen Blick auf unseren fancy Veranstaltungskalender zu werfen, denn dort findet ihr neben den Solokonzerten auch die Festivals mit isländischer Beteiligung. Los gehts:

12.-13. Mai: The Vintage Caravan @Post Valley Festival, Gießen und

29.-30. Juli: The Vintage Caravan @Rockfestival, Rengsdorf und

5. August: The Vintage Caravan @Wacken Open Air, Wacken und

12.-13. August: The Vintage Caravan @Aquamaria Festival, Plattenburg/Prignitz und

26.-27. August: The Vintage Caravan @Neuborn Open Air, Wörrstadt

Eine Band wie gemacht für Festivals. Kein Wunder, dass sie schon jetzt für fünf Festivals bestätigt ist, inklusive ihres zweiten Auftritts beim legendären Wacken Open Air. Immer voller Einsatz ohne Kompromisse.

13.-16. Mai: Skálmöld und Legend @Wave Gotik Treffen, Leipzig

20. August: Skálmöld @Summer Breeze Festival, Dinkelsbühl

Wer sich mal so richtigen Vikinger-Metal rein ziehen will sollte Skálmöld auf dem Wave Gotik Treffen Leipzig und auf dem Summer Breeze in Dinkelsbühl nicht verpassen. Bekannt wurde die Truppe in Island außerdem durch ihre Performance mit dem isländischen Symphonieorchester. Brachial triffts am besten! Weckt außerdem Erinnerungen an Metallicas legendäres S&M-Album.

Mehr in Richtung Industrial Metal geht Legend, die ebenfalls auf dem Wave Gotik Treffen auftreten werden. Auf einem Metalfestival dürfte es etwas ausgelassener zugehen als in einer Hotellobby, aber der fette Sound passt in beide Umgebungen.

9.-10. Juli: Epic Rain @ROSA LAUB Festival, Vornbach bei Passau

Eine sehr ungewöhnliche, experimentelle Mischung irgendwo zwischen Folk, Jazz und HipHop gibts bei Epic Rain zu bewundern, die Anfang Juli auf dem ROSA LAUB Festival nahe Passau am Start sein werden. Passt sehr gut auf ein Underground-Festival!

16. Juli: PopUpArtFestival @ipse, Berlin

Nicht nur eine, sondern gleich ein ganzer Schwung interessanter isländischer Bands gibt’s auf dem PopUpArtFestival in Berlin zu bewundern. Das kommt allerdings wenig überraschend wenn man weiß, dass das Festival auch isländisch organisiert ist. Neben M-Band, DJ Myth, Prince Heka, Cryptochrome, Mike Hunt, La Fontaine, KSF und Hide Your Kids ist auch jede Menge Rahmenprogramm geboten – Visuals und Film & Foto inbegriffen.

30. Juli: FM Belfast @Watt en Schlick Festival, Dangast

Man braucht nicht viele Worte verlieren über FM Belfast. Bunter, knalliger und durchgedrehter ist kaum eine Band von der Insel und dem Klischee der typisch düsteren, melancholischen Musik Islands entsagt diese Band komplett. Selbst im hohen Norden der Republik wirds am 30. Juli heiß werden – unabhängig vom Wetter!

31. Juli: Svavar Knútur @Bardentreffen-Festival, Nürnberg

Kaum einer verbindet Geschichtenerzählen und wunderschöne, verträumte Musik ähnlich unterhaltsam und bewegend wie der Inbegriff des isländischen Barden, Svavar Knútur. Für alle (Mittel-)Franken gilt daher: ab nach Nürnberg am 31. Juli!

10.-13. August: Sigur Rós @A Summer’s Tale, Luhmühlen

Richtig, richtig groß wirds dann auf dem A Summer’s Tale mit Sigur Rós. Über diese Band muss man eigentlich nicht mehr viel Worte verlieren. Zusammen mit Björk sind sie der mit Abstand bekannteste Musik-Export Islands und ein unvergessliches Live-Erlebnis.

19.-21. August: Vök @MS Dockville, Hamburg

Auf dem großartigen MS Dockville in Hamburg lässt es sich entspannt zu Vök in die Nacht tanzen. Neben unseren geliebten Isländern ist auch das restliche Lineup über alle Zweifel erhaben: Bastille, Foals, KAKKMADDAFAKKA, Bilderbuch und unzählige kleinere, weniger bekannte aber hoch spannende Bands warten auf euch.

26.-27. August: Sólstafir @Wolfszeit Festival, Crispendorf

Mit epochalem Metal-Sound wartet auch Sólstafir auf dem Wolfszeit Festival auf. Diese Band ist so gewaltig wie ein isländischer Wintersturm und lässt euch ebenso zerzaust und verdutzt zurück wenn sich die Wogen in der Pit geglättet haben.

26.-28. August: Pascal Pinon & Vil @alínæ lumr Festival, Strokow

Wer’s hingegen ruhiger angehen lassen will am letzten August-Wochenende, dem sei das kleine aber feine Indie-Festival alínæ lumr ans Herz gelegt, bei dem euch Pascal Pinon mit ihren wunderbar minimalistischen und verträumten Klängen ziemlich sicher verzaubern werden. Mit Vil ist außerdem eine weitere isländisch-dänische Kooperation am Start und auch das restliche Line-Up verspricht Freude (u.a. mit Zoot Woman und Die höchste Eisenbahn).

31. August: My Bubba @Pop-Kultur Festival, Berlin

Musikalisch in eine nicht unähnliche Kerbe schlägt My Bubba – wobei schlagen sicher ein zu martialischer Ausdruck ist. Eher klatschen, denn Body Percussion steht auch auf dem Programm des isländisch-schwedischen Duos. Aber man klatscht ja nicht in eine Kerbe…Wie auch immer, es ist umwerfend schön.

21. September: Helgi Jonsson @Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg

Eine grandiose Mischung aus Folk, Indie und Songwriting kann man bei Helgi Jonsson auf dem Reeperbahn Festival bestaunen – trotz seiner kürzlichen Herzoperation. Von Herzen gute Besserung, Helgi, und die Hamburger unter euch dürfen sich feste freuen!
Jemand von euch irgendwo am Start? 🙂

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.