Album review: Sin Fang – Spaceland

With his new, on September 16th via Morr Music releasing fourth album called “Spaceland”, Sindri Már Sigfússon strikes with his solo project Sin Fang a new path. On his previous indie and folk orientated three records, electronic elements played if anything then just a very minor part in his music. The opposite on his new album, where he completely renounces guitars and leaves instead the door to electronic music and even to future R&B wide open. This was predictable, since Sin Fang started to work for the trap experiment Gangly. Melancholy and extremely intimate songwriting combined with from slow to driving-pounding basses and even gentle piano sounds make this record to a varying and roundly successful piece of contemporary music. Listen to the album while reading!

Not only during the opening song Candyland Sin Fang had support from well-known artists. In addition to Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi in Candyland, you can hear his Seabear colleague Sóley, the Norwegian Farao and Jófríður Ákadóttir (Pascal Pinon).

Album Cover © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir
Album Cover © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir

Deep, stomping basses and gloomy lyrics

In the pop-opener Candyland Sin Fang and Jónsi are vocally complementing each other so much that their soft-whispering voice is pretty hard to distinguish from each other. Together with the lyrics, a feeling of weightlessness is spreading. By driving hi-hats, you won’t get the feeling during this record for the last time, as if you would float out on an ice floe to Icelandic glacial lakes. Also the second song is in no way inferior to the first one. Stomping basses come along with the repeated headline Not Ready For Your Love. Probably nobody will make it over the 3:52 without starting to bob. The question „Why is ordinary life such a nightmare?“ hangs in the air and is taken up again later in Snowblind. Thereby, Sin Fang underlines his statements from previous interviews, where he said that this album was written during a time when panic attacks started to chase him.

The quiet deep and sluggish bass sounds in the following songs called Lost Girl and I Want You To Know are then bringing R&B more and more into focus. A dreamy, almost paralyzed mood seems so stretch out and leads further into the gentle piano ballad Never Let Me Go. By involving Sóley, this song gains even more in quality.

With the two pieces Please Don’t Go and Branch the album reaches another peak. A pounding bass drum advances the pre-chorus of Please Don’t Go, deposited with wonderfully weightless lyrics („When I feel the weight / when I feel the sparks running through mine / I lay down / I don’t make a sound “), before finally, accompanied by muted dubstep elements, the chorus fades into the headline “Please Don’t Go”. Branch in turn carried a euphoric, happier mood than the other songs, while the lyrics stay gloomy („Oh I was lonely / but that’s the way it’s supposed to be “). By pulsing, increasingly constructed drum rhythms, the song eventually goes into a power-pop outro and wakes associations of a mixture of Owl City and the elaborately arranged rhythm-songs like for example Around Us from Jónsi’s solo album.

Snowblind turns down two gears again, until the album closes with the fulminant song Down, accompanied by the wonderfully harmonious voice of Jófríður Ákadóttir. A quiet, pathetic piece and again attended by piano and fantastic lyrics that recently have again some more hope in prospect.

Conclusion

Overall, the melancholic, in some parts even depressive mood of the lyrics spreads out over the whole album. Corresponding to that, the picture of falling is always a part, especially in the songs at the beginning of the record. To that, Sin Fang’s cool and soft-dreamy voice fits more than perfect. An album with many innovative influences – instead of folk, there is now a mixture out of R&B, electro pop, dream and trap. A melodious record so, that really knows to convince and hardly shows weak points. Especially for the songwriting it is worth to listen more precisely.

Recommended: Not Ready For Your Love // Please Don’t Go // Branch // Down

Sindri Már Sigfússon - © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir
Sindri Már Sigfússon – © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reingehört: Sin Fang – Spaceland

Mit seinem neuen, am 16. September via Morr Music erscheinenden vierten Album „Spaceland“, begibt sich Sindri Már Sigfússon mit seinem Soloprojekt Sin Fang auf neue Wege. In den drei bereits erschienenen indie- und folklastigen Vorgängeralben spielten elektronische Elemente bisher, wenn überhaupt, nur eine sehr untergeordnete Rolle. Ganz im Gegensatz dazu sein neues Album, bei dem nun komplett auf Gitarren verzichtet wird und stattdessen die Tür hin zu elektronischer Musik und gar Richtung Future R&B weit offen steht. Seit Sin Fangs Mitwirken im Trap-Experiment Gangly war dieser Umschwung jedoch absehbar. Melancholisches und extrem intimes Songwriting zu trägen, bis treibend-stampfenden Bässen, aber auch sanfte Klavierklänge machen das Album zu einem abwechslungsreichen und rundum gelungenen Gesamtwerk. Zu hören gibt es das Album sogar jetzt schon!

Nicht nur im Anfangsstück Candyland des Albums hatte Sin Fang Unterstützung bekannter Musiker. Neben dem Sigúr Rós-Frontmann Jónsi im genannten Stück ist außerdem seine Seabear-Kollegin Sóley, die Norwegerin Farao sowie Jófríður Ákadóttir (Pascal Pinon) zu hören.

Album Cover © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir
Album Cover © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir

Tiefe, stampfende Bässe und düstere Lyrics

Im Pop-Opener Candyland ergänzen sich Sin Fang und Jónsi stimmlich so weit, dass deren sanft-flüsternder Gesang nur schwer voneinander zu unterscheiden ist. Zusammen mit den Lyrics macht sich ein Gefühl von Schwerelosigkeit breit. Durch die treibenden Hi-Hats bekommt man nicht zum letzten Mal im Verlauf des Albums das Gefühl, als würde man auf einer Eisscholle in isländische Gletscherseen hinaustreiben. Auch das zweite Stück steht dem in nichts nach. Stampfende Bässe begleiten die stets wiederholte Zeile in Not ready for your love. Ohne selbst mit zu wippen schafft man es wohl nur schwer über die 3:52 hinweg. Die Frage „Why is ordinary life such a nightmare?“ steht dabei im Raum und wird auch später in Snowblind erneut aufgegriffen. Sin Fang unterstreicht damit seine Aussagen in vorausgehenden Interviews, dass das Album in einer Zeit entstanden sei, in der Panikattacken anfingen ihn zu verfolgen.

Die ruhiger ausfallenden tiefen, schleppenden Bassklänge in den darauffolgenden Lost Girl und I want you to know bringen den R&B schließlich mehr in den Vordergrund. Eine träumerische, teils fast schon paralysierte Grundstimmung scheint sich breit zu machen und führt direkt weiter in die sanfte Piano-Ballade Never Let Me Go, die durch die Beteiligung von Sóley nur noch mehr an Qualität gewinnt.

Mit den beiden Stücken Please Don’t Go und Branch erreicht das Album schließlich einen weiteren Höhepunkt. Eine stampfende Basedrum bringt den Pre-Chorus von Please Don’t Go voran, hinterlegt mit wunderbar schwerelosen Lyrics („When I feel the weight / when I feel the sparks running through mine / I lay down / I don’t make a sound“), bevor der Refrain schließlich, begleitet von gedämpften Dubstep-Elementen, in die Titelzeile „Please Don’t Go“ übergeht. Branch wiederum trägt eine euphorische, fröhlichere Stimmung als die anderen Stücke, trotzdem bleiben die Lyrics düster („Oh I was lonely / but that’s the way it’s supposed to be“). Durch pulsierende, sich zunehmend aufbauende Schlagzeugrhythmen steigert sich der Song schließlich in ein Power-Pop Outro und weckt Assoziationen an eine Mischung aus Owl City und den aufwendig inszenierten Rhythmus-Stücken wie z.B. Around Us aus Jónsis Soloalbum.

Snowblind schaltet noch einmal zwei Gänge herunter, bevor das Album schließlich im fulminanten Down in Begleitung der wunderbar harmonierenden Stimme Jófríður Ákadóttirs nicht besser enden könnte. Ein ruhiges, pathetisches Stück, erneut mit Klavierbegleitung und fantastischen Lyrics, die zuletzt wieder etwas mehr Hoffnung in Aussicht stellen.

Fazit

Insgesamt breitet sich die melancholische, an manchen Stellen schon depressive Grundstimmung der Texte über das gesamte Album hinweg aus. Dazu passend, spielt auch das Bild des Fallens vor allem in den Stücken zu Beginn des Albums immer eine Rolle. Sin Fangs kühle, sanft-träumerische Stimme harmoniert dazu mehr als perfekt. Ein Album mit vielerlei innovativen Einflüssen – statt Folk, gibt es nun einen Mix aus R&B, Electropop, Dream und Trap. Ein wohlklingendes Gesamtwerk also, das durch die Bank eigentlich mit jedem Song zu überzeugen weiß und kaum Schwachstellen aufweist. Besonders für das Songwriting lohnt es sich genauer hinzuhören.

Anspieltipps: Not Ready For Your Love // Please Don’t Go // Branch // Down

Sindri Már Sigfússon - © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir
Sindri Már Sigfússon – © Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.