Airwaves ’16 wrap up: the best reason to get older

airwaves

More or less back in all day routine which helps to overcome the pain of divorce. It’s not an ultimate end though, but at least we have to live in a long-distance relationship for almost a year again: Airwaves ’16 went down into history and slowly we realize how goddamn amazing it has been once more, this greatest music festival of them all! So until we turned one year older again, until we will be able to be embraced by our love and addict ourselves to the windy, dark and vibrant nights of Reykjavík again, we have to stand tall. But as wallowing in memories always gives you the blissful, distinctive feeling of euphoria and melancholia we want to recall our top Airwaves ’16 moments!

Mugison at Frikirkjan

airwaves

Örn Elías Guðmundsson alias Mugison from the West Fjords, son of a Karaoke singer, already deeply impressed me with his remarkable solo set at KEX off-venue back at Iceland Airwaves 2014, my first Airwaves festival. This time, it was not an insanely packed hostel lounge but an insanely packed church, the beautiful Frikirkjan down at Tjörnin lake. And Mugison wasn’t on his own but brought his band. This band joined with Mugison’s vast voice and stage presenceaus to turn the house of God into a house of rock’n’roll and the community present into a howling pack of headbanging evangelists. I wasn’t able to see it from my spot but I would not have been surprised if even Jesus had joined the song “Þjóðarsálin” growling “Eg er blóð!” Mugison is an Icelandic music legend. The reason became clear to everyone in Frikirkjan this evening and therefore he is my indisputable first Airwaves ’16 moment! // Philip

Ceasetone at Harpa (Norðurljós)

Leaving a show with a catchy tune in your ears is always a good sign. And it’s even a better sign if you wake up next morning with the same song in your mind and it’s still not annoying you! Just this happened after my first Ceasetone concert. The band was on my list of must-have-acts and they really did not disappoint me. I barely knew more than two songs when I saw them first at Harpa Norðurljós. There are bands I’m listening to. And there are others, whose CDs I’m buying and shows I’m attending. Ceasetone is definitely the latter and I really hope to see them on tour soon – I’m stoked! // Silja

Dr. Spock at Húrra

Pain in the neck for two days, a few bruises, a smelly, sweat-soaked shirt and consequently an inevitable late night shower have been the results of a 45min moshpit during the gig of punk rock icons of Dr. Spock. Thanks to Steffi who took care about my belongings when I jumped and got pushed into other peoples’ bodies, I would most certainly have lost or crashed them. I was a little surprised about the few people wearing yellow rubber gloves, despite so much locals around. In fact I was probably the only one. But in the end, it does not play a major role which outfit you are wearing during self-destruction. Dr. Spock was the athletic challenge this year. ORGAN, DR. ORGAN!! // Philip

Prins Póló at Gamla Bió

Same amount of fun, slightly different style. Svavar Pétur Eysteinsson aka. Prins Póló is another iconic character in Iceland. He prooved it at Gamla Bió on Friday night. Maybe it has been the gig the people freaked out in the most beautiful and delightful way at this year’s festival. Not just because of the preceding band on stage, Frankie Cosmos, which had a rather…let’s say less emotional, quiet appeal. Assisted by Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson, very well known as the wizard of synthesizers at FM Belfast, Prins Póló maybe won’t win The Voice of Iceland or make it for the first place at the best rock guitarist competition. But there are only very few artists kicking your ass with so much passion, commitment and joy! // Philip

Kött Gra Pjé at Hlemmur Square, off-venue

The winner takes it all! And our off-venue winner 2016 was definitely the king of Icelandic poetic rap, Atli Sigþórsson, who might be more familiar to you as Kött Gra Pje and from collaborations e.g. with Úlfur Úlfur (“Brennum allt”). There was A LOT of Icelandic hip hop in this year’s line-up, not all of the recently popping-up artists being particularly innovative. I rather had the impression that several acts sound rather similar. But then there is Kött Gra Pje. Hard to believe that such a popular and acclaimed rapper still is only about to release his debut album soon. But guess what, we think this will blow your mind just as his brutally intense show at Hlemmur Suqare did. The best reason to learn Icelandic, finally! // Steffi

Teitur Magnusson and all the others at NASA on Wednesday

The award “biggest band and most enchanting” performances goes to our beloved friend Teitur Magnusson! I counted about 12 musicians on stage at NASA, but I’m bad at maths. It might also have been 11. Or 14. After all, people were entering and leaving the stage all the time. It felt like a huge, funny and musically extremely talented living community up there, playing every instrument on earth at last once. The heart-warming songs from Teitur’s album “Tuttugu og sjö” put a smile on my face during the whole gig. I wanna see Teitur live each and every day until next year’s festival! By the way, whole wednesday night at NASA was incredibly impressive, with Snorri Helgasson, Tilbury and Moses Hightower delivering jaw-dropping performances. Great, great scheduling by the festival organizers! // Philip

Berndsen with full band at Gamla Bió

airwaves

He is one of the musicians I would declare guilty for dragging me towards Icelandic music, making me an addict: Davið Berndsen, or The Berndsen, or simply Berndsen. I’m totally into 80s synthie pop, admittedly, and so he hits me right into the heart. And my legs. So far he did it with his congenial partner Sveinbjörn Thorarensen aka Hermigervill. But meanwhile, Berndsen gathered a full band around him and Gamla Bió on Friday night was their first stage appearance. It’s something else compared to the legendary, driving sets with Hermigervill in the past of course, you could describe it as grown up. But the band is doing an amazing job! The new songs from his upcoming third album “Alter Ego” work perfectly with the organic live band style. Handmade 80s pop at its best. And Berndsen can still get rid of his shirt when he feels like it! // Philip

Kiriyama Family at Bió Paradís, off-venue

Another off-venue gig leaving us behind speechless but still shaking from our dance moves. Wow, I knew them before but haven’t seen them live so far. Have I already mentioned that I love the 80s sound? Yes, I did. I love Kiriyama Family therefore. Those beats spread right down to your feet, the melodies make you close your eyes. The drumming was incredibly tight and creative. I was surprised the windows withstood the power of Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardóttir’s adorable voice. Second album is ahead of us, watch out for more coverage about this amazing band here. Kiriyama Family, we’ll get in touch soon! 🙂 // Philip

The next generation of Icelandic musicians!

Early practise makes the master! Seems as if that’s the credo of the Icelanders as they bring their children to all the different off-venue show. dj. Flúgvel og Geimskip’s concert at the Alda Hotel was witnessed by a whole kindergarten group. After their supervisors had supplied them with earplugs, the children were ready or the show. Afterwards they surrounded Steinunn and told her how much they liked her performance. One of the girls eagerly wanted to buy a CD but unfortunately she had no money with her. At another off-venue show that afternoon, Úlfur Úlfur, I saw a pre-school girl in the front row, dancing like crazy and singing along each and every song. And also at off-venue gigs of Teitur Magnusson at Hertex and Dream Wife at Loft Hostel, almost hordes of children entered the front-of-stage-areas – though they had to leave Dream Wife before the last song because of “inappropriate” lyrics. The next generation of Icelandic musicians and music enthusiasts! // Silja

Kate Tempest at Gamla Bió

We’re focusing on Icelandic music here at tónlist.de (and I’ve seen almost solely Icelandic acts this year), but my final words and highest reverence simply has to go out to Kate Tempest. I expected her to be my absolute highlight at Airwaves ’16 cause I consider her new album “Let them eat chaos” as the best I’ve heard in years. But it turned out the be even better. Barely another artist ever mesmerized me this way. Spellbound by her presence, deeply toched by the lyrics, knocked over by her power, I simply had to scream in between to release the excitement. Above an incredible Airwaves, there is Kate Tempest. // Philip

Maybe...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Airwaves ’16 Wrap Up: Der beste Grund älter zu werden

airwaves

So langsam hat einen der Alltagstrott wieder. Das hilft dabei, den Trennungsschmerz besser zu verarbeiten. Es ist nicht das Ende, aber die Fernbeziehung muss jetzt erstmal wieder ein ganzes Jahr geführt werden: Airwaves ’16 ist Geschichte und wir realisieren, was es auch diesmal wieder für ein unglaubliches Brett war, dieses großartigste aller Musikfestivals! Bis wir endlich ein Jahr älter sind und unserer Liebe wieder in die Arme fallen und uns den windigen, dunklen und pulsierenden Novembernächten Reykjavíks hingeben können ist jetzt Durchhalten angesagt. Weil aber Schwelgen in Erinnerungen immer dieses wohlige, einzigartige Gefühl aus Euphorie und Melancholie hervorruft, wollen wir uns für euch an unsere großartigsten Airwaves-Momente 2016 erinnern!

Mugison in der Frikirkjan

airwaves

Örn Elías Guðmundsson alias Mugison aus den Westfjorden, der Sohn eines Karaokesängers, war mir noch von meinem ersten Airwaves 2014 mit einer überragenden Solo-Vorstellung im Off-Venue-Programm des KEX Hostels in Erinnerung. Diesmal wars kein vollgepackter Hostel-Aufenthaltsraum sondern eine vollgepackte Kirche, die Frikirkja unten am Tjörnin. Und Mugison war diesmal auch nicht alleine sondern hatte seine Band dabei. Und diese Band, zusammen mit Mugisons irrer Stimme und Bühnenpräsenz, verwandelte das Haus Gottes in ein Haus des Rock’n’Roll und die anwesende Gemeinde in eine johlende Menschenmasse. Konnte es nicht sehen von meinem Platz, aber verwundert wäre ich nicht, hätte Jesus beim Song „Þjóðarsálin“ selbst mit eingestimmt: „Eg er blóð!“ Mugison ist eine isländische Musiklegende. Warum, wurde an diesem Abend jedem klar und er ist deswegen mein großartigster isländischer Airwavesmoment 2016! // Philip

Ceasetone in der Harpa (Norðurljós)

Es ist immer ein gutes Zeichen, wenn man nach einer Show mit Ohrwurm die Halle verlässt. Ein noch besseres ist es, wenn man am nächsten Morgen mit dem gleichen aufwacht und er einem nicht auf die Nerven geht. So geschehen nach meinem allerersten CeasteTone Konzert. Ich hatte mir die Band auf meiner „unbedingt mal ansehen“ Liste vermerkt und ich wurde alles andere als enttäuscht. Gerade mal 2 Lieder kannte ich, als ich sie in der Harpa Norðurljós zum ersten Mal sah. Es gibts Bands, die ich höre und Bands, deren CDs ich kaufe und auf deren Konzerte ich gehe: CeaseTone gehört definitv in die 2. Kategorie und ich hoffe, dass sie sehr bald auf Tour kommen – I’m stoked! // Silja

Dr. Spock im Húrra

Zwei Tage Genickschmerzen, ein paar blaue Flecken, ein stinkendes, komplett durchgeschwitztes Shirt und dadurch eine dringend notwendige, schnelle Mitternachtsdusche waren die Folgen der dreiviertelstündigen Moshpit während des Gigs der Punk-Rock-Ikonen von Dr. Spock. Danke an Steffi fürs Aufbewahren meiner Habseligkeiten während meines Einsatzes, die hätte ich sonst garantiert verloren! Ein bißchen überrascht war ich, trotz der vielen Locals, von der geringen Anzahl an Trägern gelber Gummihandschuhe, genau genommen niemand außer mir (zumindest bin ich niemand sonst begegnet). Letztlich aber auch gleichgültig mit welchen Accessoires man sich in der Pit bis zum Limit verausgabt hat – Dr. Spock war der sportliche Höhepunkt dieses Jahr. ORGAN, DR. ORGAN!! // Philip

Prins Póló im Gamla Bió

Ähnliche Spaßkategorie wie Dr. Spock, etwas anderer Stil. Auch Svavar Pétur Eysteinsson aka. Prins Póló genießt Kultstatus auf der Insel. Beweis dafür war der Gig am Freitag Abend im Gamla Bió. Jener meiner in diesem Jahr besuchten Gigs, auf dem das Publikum vielleicht am schönsten die Sau raus ließ. Und das lag nicht nur dran, dass mit Frankie Cosmos zuvor eine Band die Bühne bespielte, die leider einen – nennen wir es mal – wenig emotionalen, ruhigen Stil pflegte. Unterstütz von Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson, den man auch als Mann an den FM-Belfast-Synthies als guten Partytreiber kennt, gewinnt Prins Póló vielleicht nicht The Voice of Iceland oder den Preis des besten Rockgitarristen. Aber es gibt nur eine halbe Hand voll, die mit so einem irren, kompromisslosen Einsatz eine dermaßen geile Stimmung erzeugen! // Philip

Kött Gra Pjé im Hlemmur Square, Off-Venue

Der Abräumer bei den Off-Venue-Gigs dieses Jahr! (Isländischer) HipHop war 2016 extrem stark vertreten, nicht alles fand ich jetzt besonders innovativ. Ich hatte eher den Eindruck, dass sich viele Acts klanglich und stilistisch ziemlich ähnlich sind. Nicht so beim König des isländischen Poetic-Raps, Atli Sigþórsson, den man besser als Kött Gra Pjé u.a. von Kollaborationen mit Úlfur Úlfur (Brennum allt) kennt. Bis jetzt. Kaum zu glauben, dass ein in der Szene dermaßen bekannter und gefeierter Rapper erst jetzt kurz davor steht, sein Debütalbum zu veröffentlichen. Aber dieses wird uns mit Sicherheit ebenso umhauen wie die brutal intensive Show im Hlemmur Square, die uns sofort die Müdigkeit des Vortages aus den Schädeln geblasen hat. Und ein triftiger Grund, endlich mal Isländisch zu lernen. // Steffi

Teitur Magnusson und alle anderen im NASA

Den Preis sowohl für die größte Band wie auch den zauberhaftesten Auftritt geht an unseren Freund Teitur Magnusson! Ich hab auf der Bühne im NASA 12 Musiker gezählt, bin aber auch nicht so gut in Mathe. Vielleicht waren es auch 11. Oder 14. Immerhin kamen und gingen zwischendrin auch immer wieder welche. Gefühlt war es ein wenig wie eine große, lustige und extrem musikalische WG da oben, die jedes Instrument der Welt zumindest einmal anspielte. Die wundervollen Songs von Teitur’s Album „Tuttugu og sjö“ taten ihr übriges dazu, dass mir während des gesamten Konzerts das Grinsen nicht mehr aus dem Gesicht wich. Ich will Teitur und seine Band jeden Tag live sehen, ein Jahr lang bis zum nächsten Airwaves! Übrigens war der ganze Mittwochabend im NASA unfassbar gut, denn auch die folgenden Gigs von Snorri Helgasson, Tilbury und Moses Hightower wären jeweils ein Extra-Eintrittsgeld wert gewesen. Mega gelungenes Scheduling! // Philip

Berndsen mit Full Band im Gamla Bió

airwaves

Einer, der mich mit als erstes in die klebrigen Fänge isländischer Musik, die einen nie wieder los lassen, gezogen hat, ist Davið Berndsen, oder The Berndsen, oder einfach Berndsen. Ich stehe zugegebenermaßen auch heftig auf 80er Synthiepop und damit trifft er mich genau ins Herz. Und in die Beine. Bisher war das immer zusammen mit seinem kongenialen Partner Sveinbjörn Thorarensen aka Hermigervill der Fall. Aber Berndsen hat inzwischen eine vollumfassende Band um sich versammelt, mit der er im Gamla Bió jetzt zum ersten Mal an die Öffentlichkeit ging. Stilistisch ist das natürlich etwas anderes als die legendären, treibenden Sets mit Hermigervill – man könnte sagen erwachsener. Aber die Band ist großartig! Die neuen Songs vom kommenden, dritten Album „Alter Ego“ funktionieren mit ihr prächtig. Handgemachter 80er-Pop in reister, schönster Form! Und den Oberkörper entblößen kann Berndsen ja trotzdem immer noch wenn ihm danach ist! // Philip

Kiriyama Family im Bió Paradís, Off-Venue

Noch ein Off-Venue-Gig der uns sprachlos aber immer noch zuckend von unseren Tanzmoves zurück ließ. Ich kannte die Kiriyama Family zwar schon zuvor, hatte sie aber noch nie live gesehen. Hab ich schon erwähnt, dass mich der 80er Sound umhaut? Hab ich. Deswegen liebe ich die Kiriyama Family. Die Rhythmen gehen euch direkt in die Beine, die Melodien schließen sanft eure Augen. Das Drumming war unglaublich tight und kreativ. Und ich war überrascht dass die Scheiben im Bió Paradís der unglaublichen Stimme von Hulda Kristín Kolbrúnardóttir’s stand hielten. Das zweite Album ist in der Pipeline, also haltet Ausschau nach mehr Lobreden auf die Kiriyama Family hier in nächster Zeit. Hey Kiriyama Family, ihr hört bald von uns! 🙂 // Philip

Die isländischen Musiker/-innen von morgen!

Früh übt sich, denken sich wohl auch die Isländer und nehmen ihren Nachwuchs auf die verschiedensten Off-Venue Showes mit. So kam beim dj. Flúgvel og Geimskip Konzert im Alda Hotel eine ganze Kindergartengruppe zum Konzert. Nachdem die Kindergärtner fleißig Ohrenstöpsel verteilt hatten, waren die Kinder für die Show bereit. Nach dem Konzert wurde Steinunn von den Kindern umringt und alle meinten, wie toll es gewesen wäre. Ein Mädchen hätte sich am liebsten eine CD geholt, hatte aber kein Geld dabei. Bei einem Úlfur Úlfur Konzert am Nachmittag wiederum, fiel mir ein Mädchen im Grundschulalter auf, das in der ersten Reihe stand, wie wild tanzte und jedes Lied auswendig konnte. Auch auf den Off-Venue-Shows von Teitur Magnusson im Hertex und bei Dream Wife im Loft Hostel waren ganze Horden anwesend – auch wenn sie aufgrund inkompatibler Lyrics hier vor dem letzten Song verabschiedet werden musste. Die Musiker und Musikbegeisterten von morgen! // Silja

Kate Tempest im Gamla Bió

Wenn wir uns hier auch der isländischen Musik verschrieben haben bei tónlist.de (und ich auch fast nur isländische Acts gesehen habe dieses Jahr), muss ich zum Schluss doch noch meine Ehrerbietung an Kate Tempest kundtun. Eigentlich wie erwartet mein absolutes Highlight des Airwaves 2016, da ich ihr neues Album „Let them eat chaos“ für das beste Album halte, das mir in vielen Jahren unter gekommen ist. Aber es war einfach noch so viel besser. Kaum eine Künstlerin (auch kein Künstler) hat mich jemals so gebannt mit ihrer Präsenz, so berührt mit ihren Lyrics, so umgehauen mit ihrer Wucht, dass ich zwischendrin einfach wie besessen schreien musste. Über einem irre guten Airwaves kreist Kate Tempest. // Philip

Maybe...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.